It’s November

November means lots of things… especially this year. Along with the smelly candles, changing leaves, dropping temps (I hope), it also means packing starts and so do the goodbyes. As of November 1, we have 70 days left before we go back to the states. It seems like so long, but I know it’s going to absolutely fly! And I don’t know if I’m excited or dreading it. I know it’s a combination…. and it depends on what day you ask me.

But, in light of all the mess that’s gone on lately and the pretty sour attitude I have about some things, I thought this would be a great year to join on the bandwagon and talk about something I’m thankful for every day of November. And since I didn’t get on the computer last night…. 2 for today.

I’m thankful that, even though he won’t remember it, Lincoln got to spend the first year and a half of his life here. Things are so different and most of that is to his benefit. He has spent a year and a half being treated like a mini celebrity because of his blonde hair (and his propensity to smile and make the I’m embarrassed face). He’s been able to run around the mall like a crazy kid because we don’t have to be afraid that someone is going to hurt him or kidnap him. Like last night, when he just ran around Starbucks and played with the girls that work there while we took part in their daily taste testing 🙂 He has more ‘family’ than he could ever need. Because he gets passed around all the time and meets new friends, he’s been able to develop his insanely extroverted personality. And even through he won’t remember any of it except in pictures we show him, he’s gotten to travel to some pretty awesome places. Coming from a place where most people don’t really leave the state (or sometimes the city), it’s pretty awesome that his passport will always say he was born here.

Ok, now to number 2. I’m thankful for Josh. We have had a crazy three years here after not long being married before we came. He is so patient and gracious! He is always more concerned about everyone else than himself and God has been able to use that so much here. He really has a servant heart and prefers to do things unnoticed, behind the scenes… he doesn’t even like it when people praise him for things he’s done. He’d rather they never found out. He is a wonderful father to Lincoln and a great husband to me, despite my many, MANY faults. I’m a blessed lady.

Leave a Reply

