We’re Done.

Today, I nursed Lincoln for the last time. Ever.

I put the boppy away and packed up the burp cloths away this morning.

Let me let that sink in.

OK…. how is he old enough that we’re to the point where he can survive without nursing? Isn’t he still just a few weeks old? Ugh.

Now that we’re finished, I’m so sad! I know that in a few years I’ll have another baby to nurse, Lord willing, and it’s not like it’s a bad thing that he’s growing up. But it’s so sad!At least he still needs me for lots of other things at this point! I’m not even going to do the whole glimpse into the future where he’s totally grown up and independent. That’s too far in the future for now 🙂

So, there were many times along the way that I just wanted to be finished or for him to take a bottle so I didn’t HAVE to feed him. To be able to leave the house for more than 3 hours at a time and not have to search for a nursing room or fight with the cover. And I told myself then that I would miss those few calm minutes while he ate and I should enjoy them while they were such a constant part of life. And I did. Nursing was not hard for us… I’m so thankful! Once he broke out of the newborn fog and stopped falling asleep, we never really had any issues. I think I read every blog and tip I could find and employed every single one of them!! Now that we’re at the end, I am proud that we made it 360 days and I actually look forward to baby number 2 with a little experience under my belt.

Leave a Reply

