Random Thoughts…

So, in 11 days Lincoln will be one year old…. and I will have completed my first year of on the job training as a Mommy. That is so crazy. I still feel so clueless! But he is such a good kid 🙂 He (usually) makes our job pretty easy.

Except lately. At mealtimes. He’s totally over being spoon fed. OVER it. He does like to use the spoon and help us feed him, but he’d much rather feed himself. I understand that and for a few weeks/months/icantkeeptrackoftime we’ve been giving him more finger foods. The problem, however, is that he will not tough veggies unless they are pureed. Or fruit. All he’ll eat are grilled cheeses and chicken sandwiches. But only if it’s sliced chicken. Don’t try to feed him chunks of chicken. No way.. he just spits it back out.

So meal times have become a battle and I am not a fan. I’m hoping we can start just making real meals for him and what is on his tray is what he gets…. soon. So much of what we eat here has tomato in it, I’ve been weary to start that yet. And I want to give him real eggs and not just the yolk. And peanut butter. So maybe soon he can start trying even more things and we can get a little less strict 🙂

And cloth diapers. Once he started growing up and not out, we’ve had a bit of trouble with the cloth diapers. They’re not really tight enough and so at least every other day he soaks his whole outfit because it leaks out the side or up the top. Ugh. So we’re on a cloth diaper hiatus til he fattens up 🙂

And nursing. It hasn’t been near as hard as I thought. I might write a whole post about it, but for now I just feel like I have to get that out there. Maybe I had really bad expectations or something, but aside from wanting my own schedule a few times, it really was a great experience.

This boy. He’s a nut. My favorite new thing: when he wakes up from a nap, I pick him up and say drop your pacie in the crib… and he takes it out, drops it in and gives me a high 5. He’s so hilarious.

11 days. That is insane.

Leave a Reply

