Sleeeep

I miss sleep. A lot. I seriously feel like I’m tired all the time. I know this stage passes and eventually Lincoln will sleep through the night and I can sleep for more than 4 or 5 hours at a time again, but I feel like it’s never going to happen. There was this great stretch from 2 to 3 months where he was sleeping 6 to 7 hours consistently and it was awesome. And then it stopped. I keep hearing from friends or reading blogs of people whose babies slept for at least 8 hours a night from 2 months on…. and I’m so jealous. Maybe those of us with bad sleepers just don’t talk about it as much. I mean, how un-encouraging would it be to brag about it. “My baby slept for 3 hours last night!” “My baby was up at 1.30 and 4.30 last night!” It just doesn’t have the same appeal to it.

And then there’s naps. We’re trying really hard to get on a schedule to hopefully help out the napping situation, but maybe this lifestyle is just not conducive to naps. I’ve basically decided that until k.sam and d.nelly come to town (in 2 weeks!!), I’m not leaving the house from 1 to 4 in hopes that we can establish somewhat of a normal schedule. Then, maybe if we have an off day or two it won’t throw us off quite so much. But for now, we have days like today, where he cried for 30 minutes in his crib, then I rocked him for 10 while he squirmed, then I finally decided that maybe if I laid down beside him in our bed he would sleep…. and he did, but then, so did I, which meant I got nothing done.

Maybe Lincoln just isn’t a sleeper? Maybe my milk supply is lacking and he really is that hungry? Maybe he’s so terribly distracted trying to eat during the day that he needs the half-asleep feedings at night? Maybe it really is just because of the milestones? I have no idea. But, he’s happy and gaining weight and reaching milestones…. so I can’t complain. In a few months I’ll be missing our middle of the night cuddles. I just have to keep reminding myself of that.

3 thoughts on “Sleeeep

  1. Hey girl, you know I went through my share of sleep woes. I’d love to talk you throguh some of this if you’d like to Skype sometime. I also love the baby sleep site, she has great tips on there.

  2. We also had our fair share of sleep issues with McKinley….He had at least 1 night feeding until he was 12 months old. I don’t say that to discourage you, but to let you know that I know how you feel and am thinking of you. I found that getting his naps worked out helped a ton…better sleep during the day fostered better sleep at night.

  3. I have to tell you that I do not miss the middle of the night cuddles. Didn’t then, don’t now 13 years later. But I can encourage with this: whatever you think you’re going to “get done” this year, forget about it and enjoy your baby. Maybe next year too. and the year after….. and the next…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

