4 Months

I  know I say this every month, but wow time is going so fast!

 

Our little man is 4 months old (as of yesterday) and is getting so big. He’s starting to show his personality more and more and he is hilarious. He’s so chatty in the mornings and loves when people talk to him. He’s noticing everything and starting to respond to his name, which is really fun. I think he’s an extrovert. And he’s a people person, which is really, really good here since everyone wants to hold him. He rarely cries when someone else takes him and I’m honestly dreading separation anxiety time, which I know is inevitable.

We’ve been off schedule for a few weeks now, and it’s taking it’s toll on Lincoln. His sleep is madness. He’ll go down so easy at night, then 10 minutes later wakes up and cries for 20 minutes. Ugh. I know we have to let him cry it out, but it’s super hard. I hate it. And when he wakes up at 1.30, which he’s done every night for a week, I know we need to let him just cry, but I just want to sleep and I know the sooner I go in there the sooner he’ll go back to sleep and I can too…. so far, we’ve made it 25 minutes once. We seriously have to learn and he has to learn, it’s just hard.

He started rolling over this week! It’s so fun 🙂 I noticed last week he was HATING being on his back and now he rolls over as soon as we put him down. I think the cloth diapers make it harder for him to roll back the other way, so he doesn’t do it that often. He spends most of his time on his stomach at this point. ANd he’s drooling sooooo much. it’s craziness. I really hope there’s a tooth coming, but I know it could just be like this for a long time. Anyway, the combination of rolling and drooling means that his blanket or play mat is always soaked and we go through like 10 bibs a day.

Hm, and given aforementioned sleep issue, I’ve not worked out in 2 weeks. Terrible! Mostly I feel terrible. I think I have so much more energy and am generally in a way better mood when I work out regularly… so the plan is, regardless of the sleep status, I’ll be starting on Sunday morning during Lincoln’s morning nap. Ask me about it on facebook and make sure 🙂

Without further ado:

 

We always end up with tons of pictures when we try to get this shot…. so, here are my favorites.

 

 

Ok, not a little more about that sleep problem. We generally have a pretty set bed time routine. Eat, bath, book, sing a song or two, and into the crib asleep. Until this week, it’s worked really well. Anyway, it went ok tonight, he fell asleep quick and Josh and I cooked dinner…. he started out like this:

 

We always lay him down in the middle. This is obviously not to scale… he usually holds on to one of the bars on the side (so cute). Anyway, we went to cook dinner and it took about 10 minutes… and then he woke up. We let him cry for 5, put the pacie in, then came back to eat and timed him for 10 more minutes. When I went back, he was like this:

 

His arms and legs were practically poking out of the sides of the crib. Ugh, poor little guy. I moved him back to the middle and he went right to sleep and I’ve not heard a peep since…. but how in the world did he end up up there? And, how am I supposed to know when he’s crying because he’s fighting sleep and when it’s because he’s pulling one of these shenanegans? Live and learn, right.

Leave a Reply

