While Daddy’s away….

Mommy and Lincoln slept….. well, tried to sleep. Lincoln seriously boycotted napping while Josh was gone. I think there was one day he took a decent nap. The other days I would get him calm and sleeping, start working out annnnd within 30 minutes he was awake. Or, as soon as I turned on the water in the bathroom. Oh well. We survived. We spent quite a bit of time with Erin and the kiddos, which was hugely awesome for my sanity. I don’t do well by myself for long stretches. I’m pretty sure I called my mom on Tuesday and after she said the initial “hey,” I didn’t stop for 25 minutes.

I did get to hang out with Gulcin on Monday 🙂 It’d been a few weeks since I’d seen her, so I was excited. We usually meet downtown, but this time she texted and asked if we could meet on my side of town for breakfast. Totally easier for me, so I said sure. When she called to say she was here I loaded Lincoln up in the stroller and went outside and she was here with a friend, in a car… she didn’t come by tram. And, apparently, we were taking the car to our destination. Luckily, I’ve already experienced nursing in the car and understand that it’s totally normal here to ride around with your child not in a carseat, so she held Lincoln the whole way to the restaurant. Yay international living 🙂

I haven’t even really done that much this week to write about…. I just feel like it was such a busy week! I’m definitely glad Josh doesn’t have to go away often and I’m super glad that our lifestyle allows him to be home on particularly crazy days to help me. Kudos to military moms (aka my sister) who handle the kids alone for way longer periods on a regular basis. As if I didn’t respect them enough before, I have even more respect for them now!!!

And, this little guy is 12 weeks old tomorrow!! How in the world is that possible? He’s growing so fast and doing new things all the time. This week, he is a drooling machine. Insane. He’s starting to grab things and hold on. He talks a TON and will respond to us and try to mimic what we say. It’s totally cute. He’s also getting really good with tummy time and can roll from tummy to back. Soooooon we think he’ll be rolling the other way, too. I don’t know if I’m ready for him to start being mobile. He’s such a happy baby 🙂 He seriously smiles all the time. I mean, he has his moments of crying, but they’re not that frequent. He’s starting to sleep longer at night (except this week…) and he’s got a pretty good schedule down with eating. He still is a speed-eater, which is great in general, but also makes me worry all the time that he’s not getting enough nourishment. But, obviously he is. He’s satisfied when he’s finished eating and he’s gaining weight and definitely filling up his fair share of diapers. Apparently this is just the standard concern of a breastfeeding mom.

I still think he’s Josh’s clone, but some lady in the elevator this week and our neighbor said he looks like me. I don’t believe them. I seriously think they just see his pale skin and blue eyes (yes, they’re turning blue as far as we can tell… but it’s early), and they think he’s just like me. Really, did you see his facial features? What about his ears? Notice those cheeks? He is so his father’s son.

In un-baby related news (yes, there is life apart from Lincoln, hard to believe, I know) I finally tried the gym that I found way back in April… when they wouldn’t let me join because I was pregnant. It’s very curves-esque, not that I’ve been to curves, but it’s the 30 second rotation thing. Anyway, I actually liked it more than I expected. Don’t get me wrong, it’s no TurboKick and it’s most certainly nothing compared to Aubrey’s classes, but it’s good for here. The ladies were absolutely shocked when I was filling out the questionnaire and told them I basically have been working out since I was 4. Apparently, that’s unheard of here. One of them visited LA last year and was so shocked to see people running on the beach she filmed it. It’s so weird to them that we enjoy exercise so much. Ha.

PS. I look like a teenager in this picture. No wonder people ask me all the time.

 

Leave a Reply

