2 Months!

Well, Lincoln is 2 months old today. How in the world did that happen!?!?! Most of me feels like time is absolutely flying by, but then the other part of me feels like it’s been so long since I was pregnant… I can’t even remember what it felt like!

Anyway, he’s growing so fast! He had his 2 month check up yesterday. The boy is 60 cm (23.5 inches) and 5.55 kilos (12 lbs 4 oz). He’s getting so big! Ah.

He wasn’t so into smiling at first… just stared. And I am posting for the first time on my brand spankin new macbook (praise the Lord). There’s no software on here for lazy and not so talented people like me to edit pictures (which means, add a little text that says 2 months). It only came with fancy iPhoto software that you actually have to have knowledge of photography to use. So, no text.

And, holy cow wordpress with a mac is soooo, so much easier. You just drag pics in, really? Man, I’ve been missing out. Anyway.

It didn’t take much coaxing to get him to smile…. maybe he just didn’t like having his arm around the dog? I dunno.

I love when he smiles 🙂 I could spend my entire day making faces at him…. well, the parts when he’s awake, anyway.

That hat is too much. He looks like a golfer from Scotland or something.

So, about the boy this month. He is finally settling into some sort of schedule, which is awesome for his type-A momma. Wakes up at 7, eats every 3 hours, takes 3ish naps every day…. which gives me time to work out, study language, and hang out with Josh if he’s here in the afternoon. His favorite toy is the Charlie Brown doll thing my mom sent. He smiles at it every time he sees it and when I push the button (it plays the theme song), he stops moving until it’s over. Hilarious. He loves bath time, which is great for us when he has one of his rare crying spurts. We just stick him in the tub and he’s fine. He eats like a mad man. I totally expected to be feeding him for 30 to 45 minutes each time he ate, but no, it’s more like 10 or 20. He eats so fast. It’s nice in the middle of the night 🙂 About that, we just moved this week to one wake up at 4am ish. So, he’s down for 6 hours, wakes up for a speed feeding (seriously, it’s never been longer than 20 minutes since his first few weeks), then goes back down til 7. He likes going outside in the stroller, but usually falls asleep before we get home. And so far, he’s been remarkably tolerant of the random people touching him, grabbing his feet, kissing his hands, etc. It doesn’t happen alllll that often, but enough to make me uncomfortable. He handles it like a champ.

Now, about the doctor. Why do I always have a story after going to the doctor here?!?

We went last week to make an appointment, because before we left the capital, they said you had to for the 2 month appointment for the hip ultrasound and one of the shots (that we didn’t want anyway). So, we went, and the guy looked at us like we were insane, but put Lincoln in the system and made an appointment for us. Well, we went yesterday at the given time… and they had no record of him whatsoever. It took a good 20 minutes to get that all sorted out and get him back in the system. As Josh was doing that, old lady number 1 tells me to pick his carseat up off the floor because the dirt and such are going to blow up into it and make him sick. Um, yeah. Where am I supposed to put him? Thanks. Probably totally rude, but we just left him where he was.

While we were waiting, old lady number 2 sees him, complements him, asks how old he is, then commences a stream of mashallah’s and I’m still clueless as to how to respond. I usually just say thanks and smile a lot. It’s always so awkward, because it’s like they’re trying to have a conversation but they only say the same 2 things over and over after I talk each time. Anyway.

Then we went to see the doctor. He was actually great and I’m glad… we’ll obviously be going back since we don’t have a choice, but he was great with Lincoln. As he’s doing the exam, he takes the diaper off and says, with a LOT of shock, “You circumcised him?!?! Why?” Josh and I both snickered. I couldn’t help it. And then explained why we would do this to our newborn (as opposed to waiting til he’s 7 or 8 like they do here… the doc in the capital was like, yeah, why would you not do it now, moving on). Basically, everything we said he was like, “What? Why?” Another example: they give a vaccine for tb here that we don’t want and he couldn’t understand why not. We tried explaining, but it didn’t work. Eventually he just said, well, it’s your kid (essentially). Then it was time to measure him. In the capital they had this nice system where you put the tip of his head against one end and then the foot end bar slid to get an accurate measurement….. nope. He just got out a tape measure. And Lincoln has to get vaccines this month, but they’re given by the government here, so you are supposed to go to the government health building, but if you don’t have the national insurance, you can’t get them. So he had to call that place and have them sent to the hospital and we’ll go back today or tomorrow to get them. Whew. And, we managed to do all of this in the local language! Victory!

Longest post ever.

If you read this far, I have another few pics for you:

While Josh and I were eating, the boy was entertaining himself on his play mat. I looked down and noticed he’s hooked his arm in the worm. Ha! He actually does this pretty often. But then, we were laughing at that and I noticed his pacie was STUCK behind his ear (if you look at the pic bigger, you can see it). He would move his head and it would move with it. Oh my. We tried to get a pick but it fell off after I held him for a minute.

One more. He’s starting to grow out of some of his 3 month clothing, so I’m making sure he wears it all at least once more. I love this one…. so I got a shot to compare to the first time he wore it.

at 2 weeks

at 2 months

Leave a Reply

