About the Wine….

Ok, we all know that I don’t drink alcoholic beverages. Never have. Never will. The few times I’ve had to taste them, like when I was in Paris and we all had to try “real” wine, I seriously want to just spit it back out. On top of my convictions and reasons for not wanting to drink, I just really think it’s disgusting. I don’t know if Josh finds alcoholic drinks as repulsive as I do, but nevertheless, he also dislikes them and shares the same convictions.

So, imagine our surprise when, on Easter sunday, the communion plate is coming around and Josh gets my attention and mouths, “It’s real wine.” Um, ok. I’m pretty sure in my whole life as a follower of Christ this has never happened to me. Maybe because I’m baptist and too many people still try unsuccessfully to explain away the water-to-wine story… it wasn’t alcoholic wine, that’s just what it was called. Ha. Anyway,  So what am I supposed to do? I can’t not take communion, especially since I already have the little cup thingy in my hand (luckily I grabbed a less full one). We just held our breath and drank it. I felt like I got a whole lot, but when I looked down I realized I actually only had half of the miniscule cup. Bleh. My friend beside me just leaned over and jokingly said, “Well, I hope it’s okay for baby?!?!” Me, too.

Image

Fast forward to this week. We went to another city to visit some new brothers and sisters and hang out for a bit and, since they don’t have a church in their city, they wanted to do communion with us while we were there. So, the younger brother goes to the store and comes back with, you guessed it, a bottle of wine. Here we go again. Luckily, our friend who is from here was able to explain that we don’t drink and in our church we don’t use wine…. and because of the baby he was only going to give me a tiny bit, but that didn’t mean I didn’t appreciate it or that I didn’t completely take part in the communion. So, again, I just held my breath and drank it.

Image

Apparently, it’s normal here for churches to use wine… ours just usually does grape or cherry juice so we didn’t know to expect it. I mean, I think outside of the baptist world it’s normal in America, too? We found out later they only use wine at our church on big holidays…. so, I may mysteriously have to go on a potty break during communion on those days. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

